Saxophone Colossus - Sonny Rollins

music vinyl

180 gram vinyl LP in Gatefold packaging

"Saxophone Colossus", recorded on June 22, 1956, presents Sonny Rollins leading an all-star quartet that includes pianist Tommy Flanagan, bassist Doug Watkins, and drummer Max Roach. The album enjoyed great critical success from the start and helped establish Rollins as a prominent jazz artist.

Renowned critic Ralph J. Gleason gave the album a five-star rating in Down Beat, stating that: “Almost as if in answer to the charge that there is a lack of grace and beauty in the work of the New York hard-swingers comes this album in which Rollins displays humor, gentleness, a delicate feeling for beauty in line, and a puckish sense of humor. I find this entire album excellent on all counts and for all persons concerned (the recorded sound is a gas, by the way).”

The album also received five stars in All Music Guide, with Scott Yanow writing that, “Sonny Rollins recorded many memorable sessions during 1954-1958, but Saxophone Colossus is arguably his finest all-around set. Rollins debuts and performs the definitive version of ‘St. Thomas,’ and tears into the chord changes of ‘Mack the Knife’ (here called ‘Moritat’). Essential music.”


Available Stock:

Add to Cart

Click & Collect

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

General Fields

  • : 8436569193747
  • : rocket imports
  • : rocket
  • : books