The Mammoth Book of Antarctic Journeys: 32 Eye-witness Accounts of Adventure in the Antarctic

Author(s): Jon E. Lewis (Editor)

biography & memoir

This is the very best writing on the Antarctic, from James Cook's eighteenth-century assertion that 'no man will ever venture further than I have done' to Lynne Cox's description of her epic, icy swim in the twenty-first century - 32 first-hand accounts of men and women challenging one of the Earth's last true wildernesses. Here you will find both legendary tales of heroism and startling contemporary accounts of the impact of global warming on the Earth's sole undeveloped continent, including: "Dog Days" by Robert Falcon Scott; "The Loss of the Endurance" by Ernest Shackleton; "Alone" by Richard E Byrd; "The Killer Under the Water" by Gareth Wood; "Melting Point" by David Helvarg; and, "Swimming to Antarctica" by Lynne Cox.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

The very best writing on the Antarctic from Ernest Shackleton to endurance swimmer Lynne Cox. Ties in with the centenary of Scott's expedition to the South Pole.

Jon E. Lewis is a writer and historian. His many previous books include the bestselling The Mammoth Book of the Edge, Mammoth Book of Polar Journeys, The Mammoth Book of How it Happened: Everest and The Mammoth Book of Wild Journeys.

General Fields

  • : 9781849017220
  • : Constable and Robinson
  • : Robinson Publishing
  • : 0.359
  • : October 2011
  • : 197mm X 130mm X 32mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : February 2012
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Jon E. Lewis (Editor)
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : 919.8904
  • : 512