The Noise of Time

Author(s): Julian Barnes

fiction a-z

"BARNES' MASTERPIECE." (OBSERVER). In May 1937 a man in his early thirties waits by the lift of a Leningrad apartment block. He waits all through the night, expecting to be taken away to the Big House. Any celebrity he has known in the previous decade is no use to him now. And few who are taken to the Big House ever return. So begins Julian Barnes' first novel since his Booker-winning The Sense of an Ending. A story about the collision of Art and Power, about human compromise, human cowardice and human courage, it is the work of a true master.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Art and Power collide in Julian Barnes's first novel since the Booker-winning The Sense of An Ending

Spectrum SMH 13/2/16 'is a fine achievement, an intricate counterpoint of images, memories and emotions...clearly it is the work of one of the leading novelists of our time.

Julian Barnes is the author of twelve novels, including The Sense of an Ending, which won the 2011 Man Booker Prize for Fiction. He has also written three books of short stories, Cross Channel, The Lemon Table and Pulse; four collections of essays; and two books of non-fiction, Nothing to be Frightened Of and the Sunday Times Number One bestseller Levels of Life. He lives in London.

General Fields

  • : 9781910702604
  • : Vintage Publishing
  • : Jonathan Cape Ltd
  • : 0.34
  • : September 2015
  • : 204mm X 129mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Julian Barnes
  • : Hardback
  • : 1
  • : en
  • : 823.92
  • : very good
  • : 183